Tags

TOTO - You have to have friends!

31. July 2021

TOTO - Freunde muss man haben!

"I just lost one of my closest friends in our longtime tour manager and Al Schmitt, the legendary engineer who worked with us on 'Toto IV', has also passed on. Sorry, that brings me down." With these words, Steve Lukather apologises for his tardiness. Quickly, however, he switches gears. Because the actual reason for the conversation is quite a positive one, after all, with "With A Little Help From My Friends" the first sample of the new Toto line-up is released

eclipsed: Why did you do a streaming event? There is not necessarily a concert atmosphere.

eclipsed No. 169 / 4-2015

09. December 2015

STEVE HACKETT - Die Stunde des Wolfs

Lange Steve Hackett has held up the flag of progressive rock of the seventies with his releases, to finally celebrate this high phase in his own cause once again with "Genesis Revisited" and at the same time reap the deserved harvest of his steadfastness. For this and above all to the new album, the concept album "Wolflight", the smart Brit is our question and answer.

TOTO - contract is contract

TOTO "XIV"

14. April 2015

XIV" is actually the fourteenth studio album of the Californians, if you count the soundtrack to "Dune". It is declared that they want to follow on from "IV", which was their most sustainable fragrance brand to date with the megahits "Rosanna" and "Africa" in 1982.

TOTO - contract is contract

26. March 2015

TOTO - contract is contract

With their new studio album "Toto XIV", the first in nine years, Toto want to continue their great deeds in the eighties. And on paper the chances are not bad, after all there are three founding members in the current line-up as well as singer Joseph Williams, who once refined the albums "Fahrenheit" and "The Seventh One". Nevertheless, the US band doesn't remain in the past with their sound, rather they have delivered a multi-layered work that easily stands up to comparison with younger groups. But it could have been her last record.

TOTO "35th Anniversary Tour - Live In Poland"

28. April 2014

Toto went to Lodz. Their anniversary tour to the 35th not only offers plenty of material from these 35 years, also some band members who had left the band in the meantime, like keyboard player and singer David Paich and lead singer Joseph Williams, are back. Williams, son of the famous film composer John Williams, was Toto's lead singer on the albums "Fahrenheit" (1986) and "The Seventh One" (1988). From these albums and from Toto XX (1998) - a compilation with hitherto unreleased songs - is available with the anniversary set.

eclipsed No. 112 / 7/8-2009

10. April 2014

SANTANA
The Great Rock Latinum

Very few musicians manage to create a completely independent brand with their sound - Carlos Santana is one of them. 40 years ago he and his band named after him put Latin rock on the map with their debut album. We follow the traces left by Santana in the sixties and seventies.

DREAM THEATER
"We're under pressure with every new album."

eclipsed No. 101 / 5-2008

10. April 2014

JETHRO TULL
Shuffling madness

Four decades as a long runner in the limelight, so many concerts on the hump as hardly any other band, in addition a loyal following in the back: Jethro Tull have seen many musical fashions come and go, have made a number of artistic turns themselves and now, on 30 May, start their "40 Years Anniversary Live Tour" in Berlin. A tribute to the indestructible rock band and its headstrong boss.

MOTORPSYCHO
Glacier melt of consciousness

eclipsed No. 79 / 2-2006

09. April 2014

Tags

eclipsed Nr. 169 / 4-2015

09. Dezember 2015

STEVE HACKETT - Die Stunde des Wolfs

Lange hat Steve Hackett mit seinen Veröffentlichungen die Fahne des Progressive Rock der Siebzigerjahre hochgehalten, um schließlich mit „Genesis Revisited“ diese Hochphase in eigener Sache noch einmal groß abzufeiern und damit zugleich die verdiente Ernte seiner Standfestigkeit einzufahren. Hierzu und vor allem zum neuen Album, dem Konzeptalbum „Wolflight“, steht uns der smarte Brite Rede und Antwort.

TOTO - Vertrag ist Vertrag

Mit ihrem neuen Studioalbum „Toto XIV“, dem ersten seit neun Jahren, wollen Toto an ihre Großtaten in den Achtzigern anknüpfen. Und auf dem Papier stehen die Chancen dafür nicht schlecht, immerhin befinden sich im aktuellen Line-up drei Gründungsmitglieder sowie Sänger Joseph Williams, der einst die Alben „Fahrenheit“ und „The Seventh One“ veredelte. Dennoch verharrt die US-Band mit ihrem Sound nicht in der Vergangenheit, vielmehr hat sie ein vielschichtiges Werk abgeliefert, das dem Vergleich mit jüngeren Gruppen locker standhält. Doch es könnte ihre letzte Platte gewesen sein.

TOTO „XIV“

14. April 2015

XIV“ ist tatsächlich das vierzehnte Studioalbum der Kalifornier, wenn man den Soundtrack zu „Dune“ mitzählt. Erklärtermaßen wollen sie damit anschließen an „IV“, das mit den Megahits „Rosanna“ und „Africa“ 1982 ihre bisher nachhaltigste Duftmarke war.

TOTO - Vertrag ist Vertrag

26. März 2015

Mit ihrem neuen Studioalbum „Toto XIV“, dem ersten seit neun Jahren, wollen Toto an ihre Großtaten in den Achtzigern anknüpfen. Und auf dem Papier stehen die Chancen dafür nicht schlecht, immerhin befinden sich im aktuellen Line-up drei Gründungsmitglieder sowie Sänger Joseph Williams, der einst die Alben „Fahrenheit“ und „The Seventh One“ veredelte. Dennoch verharrt die US-Band mit ihrem Sound nicht in der Vergangenheit, vielmehr hat sie ein vielschichtiges Werk abgeliefert, das dem Vergleich mit jüngeren Gruppen locker standhält. Doch es könnte ihre letzte Platte gewesen sein.

TOTO „35th Anniversary Tour – Live In Poland"

28. April 2014

Toto fuhren nach Lodz. Ihre Jubiläumstour zum 35. bietet nicht nur reichlich Material aus diesen 35 Jahren, auch einige Bandmitglieder, die zwischenzeitlich ausgestiegen waren, wie Keyboarder und Sänger David Paich und Leadsänger Joseph Williams, sind wieder dabei. Williams, Sohn des berühmten Filmkomponisten John Williams, war Totos Leadsänger auf den Alben „Fahrenheit“ (1986) und „The Seventh One“ (1988). Von diesen Alben und von „Toto XX“ (1998) – eine Compilation mit bis dato unveröffentlichten Songs – gibt es mit dem Jubiläumsset reichlich auf die Ohren.

eclipsed Nr. 112 / 7/8-2009

10. April 2014

SANTANA
Das große Rock-Latinum

Die wenigsten Musiker schaffen es, mit ihrem Sound eine völlig eigenständige Marke zu kreieren – Carlos Santana gehört dazu. Vor 40 Jahren setzten er und seine nach ihm benannte Band mit ihrem Debütwerk den Latin Rock auf die Landkarte. Wir folgen den Spuren, die Santana in den Sechziger- und Siebzigerjahren hinterlassen haben.

DREAM THEATER
„Wir stehen bei jedem neuen Album unter Druck“

Mit „Black Clouds & Silver Linings“ veröffentlichen die New Yorker Progmetal-Könige Dream Theater dieser Tage nicht nur ihr zehntes Studioalbum, sondern vielleicht auch ihr ausgewogenstes der letzten zehn Jahre. Beim Treffen mit Schlagzeuger Mike Portnoy sprachen wir allerdings nicht nur übers neue Album, es ging auch um die Transatlantic-Reunion und die „Progressive Nation“-Tour 2009.

eclipsed Nr. 101 / 5-2008

10. April 2014

JETHRO TULL
Shuffling madness

Vier Jahrzehnte lang als Dauerbrenner im Rampenlicht, so viele Konzerte auf dem Buckel wie kaum eine andere Band, dazu eine treue Gefolgschaft im Rücken: Jethro Tull haben viele musikalische Moden kommen und gehen sehen, haben selbst eine Reihe von künstlerischen Kehrtwendungen vollzogen und starten jetzt, am 30. Mai, in Berlin ihre „40 Years Anniversary Live Tour“. Eine Würdigung der unverwüstlichen Rockband und ihres eigenwilligen Chefs.

MOTORPSYCHO
Gletscherschmelze des Bewusstseins

Ihre Musik war nie Fastfood. Von einer Mischung aus Punk und psychedelischem Hardrock ausgehend, driftete die norwegische Formation Motorpsycho Mitte der 90er in Country-Gefilde ab, um 2006 mit „Black Hole/Blank Canvas“ ihr bis dahin abstraktestes Album zu produzieren. Jetzt kehrt sie mit „Little Lucid Moments“ zurück.

eclipsed Nr. 79 / 2-2006

09. April 2014