BARREN EARTH - Devil's Resolve

Kategorie: CD-Reviews | Genre: Gothic/Dark Rock, Metal | Heft: Jahrgang 2012, eclipsed Nr. 139 / 4-2012 | VÖ-Jahr: 2012 | Wertung: 8/10 | Label: Peaceville | Autor: MB

Barren Earth continue to sound out their extremes. The Finnish Düsterheimer have given their second album a good portion of additional heaviness. The share of playful seventies bonds (Folk and Prog) was also increased once again. But this is still in second place, because Barren Earth feel primarily committed to the melancholic Death Metal of Finnish coinage, as Amorphis, Sentenced and Katatonia also cultivate it. Apropos Amorphis: With bassist Olli-Pekka Laine and keyboarder Kasper Mårtenson two former members of Amorphis have a big part in the sound of Barren Earth. And since guitarist Sami Yli-Sirniö (Kreator), drummer Marko Tarvonen (ex-Moonsorrow) and singer Mikko Kotamäki (Swallow The Sun) are by no means unknowns, there was already talk of a kind of supergroup. This may go a little too far. The quality of "Devil's Resolve" speaks for itself. Speaking of namedropping: The album was mixed by Dan Swanö and the cover artwork is by Paul Romano. So this is where it all fits together.

Top track: The Rains Begin

Back to overview