HERMAN RAREBELL & FRIENDS - Herman's Scorpions Songs

Kategorie: CD-Reviews | Genre: Classic Rock | Heft: Jahrgang 2014, eclipsed Nr. 166 / 12-2014 | VÖ-Jahr: 2014 | Wertung: 6.5/10 | Label: Solid Rockhouse | Autor: ML

Herman Rarebell, Scorpions drummer from 1977 to 1996, had disappeared from the scene for some time. As Herman Rarebell & Friends he now dedicates himself to his Scorpions past with illustrious guest singers, while as drummer of Michael Schenker's Temple Of Rock he also digs into the past. But there, besides the Scorpions, old MSG and UFO classics will come to light again. What could be fun live in a club, doesn't necessarily make sense in a studio-like way. 13 Scorpions tracks, from "Rock You Like A Hurricane" to "Another Piece Of Meat" to "Animal Magnetism", were newly recorded. Herman had written all the songs offered here. The fact that Bobby Kimball (Toto), Doogie White (Rainbow, Demon's Eye, Temple Of Rock) or Tony Martin (Black Sabbath) now dare to play the Klaus-Meine-Vocals doesn't make the whole thing more exciting, because nobody really makes a song their own. But at least the whole thing could have been considered a good concert template. But then the ending with the only new song "Let It Shine" is terribly greasy.

Top Track: Make It Real

Back to overview