JAMES LABRIE - Impermanent Resonance

Kategorie: CD-Reviews | Genre: Progmetal | Heft: Jahrgang 2013, eclipsed Nr. 152 / 7-8-2013 | VÖ-Jahr: 2013 | Wertung: 8/10 | Label: InsideOut | Autor: MB

Shortly before the release of the new Dream Theater album, singer James LaBrie quickly sends his "Static Impulse" successor into the race. "Impermanent Resonance" was again conceived in collaboration with LaBries longtime songwriting partner/keyboarder Matt Guillory. The line-up will be completed by guitarist Marco Sfogli, bassist Ray Riendeau and drummer Peter Wildoer, who was also in the race for the Portnoy successor at the auditions until the end and who will again contribute various growls. The band, which has acquired its own identity over the last few years, has once again made slight progress in terms of hardening, as the brutal opener "Agony" proves. While the sound of LaBries' solo project "Elements Of Persuasion" (2005) was not so far away from his main band, "Static Impulse" (2010) and now "Impermanent Resonance" are sovereign border crossers between elements of the Gothenburg Melodic Death School and the Progressive Metal Dream Theaters.

Top track: Agony

Back to overview