QUEENSRŸCHE - Queensrÿche

Kategorie: CD-Reviews | Genre: Progmetal | Heft: Jahrgang 2013 | VÖ-Jahr: 2013 | Wertung: 8/10 | Label: Century Media | Autor: ML

The competition of "Taterÿche" will have to nibble on this album. The simply "Queensrÿche" titled work of the three founding members Scott Rockenfield, Michael Wilton and Eddie Jackson, their longtime second guitarist Parker Lundgren and the new singer Todd LaTorre (ex-Crimson-Glory) was produced by James 'Jimbo' Barton. He had already worked for the band at glorious "Empire" times. And he gave the newly formed band a crystal clear and at the same time very powerful sound. Musically this can be classified between "Operation: Mindcrime" and "Empire". Distinguishing LaTorre's singing from Tate isn't easy. Over the relatively short playing time of 35 minutes, the band acts multifacetedly and with a playful nonchalance. The songs are usually in the four-minute range, which doesn't mean that they seem to be short. After the atmospheric intro "X2" follows already with "Where Dreams Go To Die" the strongest track of the album, a Queensrÿche song that couldn't be better. This makes sense, because a Queensrÿche work without Geoff Tate must immediately make it clear that it can also be done without him. 1:0 for "Toddrÿche".

Top track: Where Dreams Go To Die

Back to overview