VICIOUS RUMORS - Electric Punishment

Kategorie: CD-Reviews | Genre: Metal | Heft: Jahrgang 2013, eclipsed Nr. 150 / 5-2013 | VÖ-Jahr: 2013 | Wertung: 8/10 | Label: Steamhammer | Autor: MB

Also due to a lack of personnel constancy, the once so powerful PowerMetal speedboat Vicious Rumors started to roll in the mid-nineties. Five singers on five different albums speak a clear language. Fortunately, guitarist/mastermind Geoff Thorpe has been keeping his baby back on track for some time now; with singer Brian Allen, he has also done a real stroke of luck, which now even allows him to record a second album in a row. "Electric Punishment", which even seems a bit more alive than its predecessor "Razorback Killers", also offers a rehearsal with two old acquaintances: Brad Gillis and Marc McGee, who once formed one of the best guitar doubles in metal history with Thorpe, are allowed to contribute solos. Stylistically one moves again in the direction of the nineties. However, the compositional class of "Vicious Rumors" (1990) or "Welcome To The Ball" (1991) cannot be approached. "Word Of Mouth" (1994) is within reach, though. The rather unspectacular Kiss cover version "Strange Ways" could have been saved.

Top track: I Am The Gun

Back to overview