THE FALL - Re-With

Kategorie: CD-Reviews | Genre: Garage | Heft: Jahrgang 2013, eclipsed Nr. 151 / 6-2013 | VÖ-Jahr: 2013 | Wertung: 7/10 | Label: Cherry Red | Autor: AT

The Fall release their 30th studio album with "Re-Mit" (not including compilations and peel sessions). To the current line-up (always important to mention this with the fast spinning personnel carousel of the band): Mark E. Smith on mic (who else?), Peter Greenway (lead guitar), Keiron Melling (drums), Elena Poulou (keyboards, vocals) and David Sourr (bass). The style mix is as unusual as ever. Sometimes The Fall are punk ("No Respects"), then wave-oriented ("Victrola Time"), then electric-experimental- avant-garde ("Jam Song"). Next they remind of the Stranglers ("Sir William Wray") and also a pinch of glam rhythm they don't seem to be averse to ("Kinder Of Spine"). But in the end these are all just approximate categorizations. Because the sound visions of Smith and especially his lyrics still stand for British extravagance and the penchant for the bizarre. A not easy album, but carefully produced in terms of sound and not boiling up the Lo-Fi time again.

Top track: Children Of Spine

Back to overview