Tags

SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA - When lizards cry

20. March 2018

SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA - When lizards cry

The German psychedelic/neokrautrock duo Sounds Of New Soma presents their fourth album "Live At The Green Festival". After the acclaimed "La Grande Bellezza", which indulges in beauty and quirkiness, the new work goes in a new straight-line direction. eclipsed spoke with the two protagonists Dirk Raupach (also owner of the independent label Tonzonen Records) and Alex Djelassi.

eclipsed: The title of the new album is a fake. The album is neither recorded live nor is there a Green Mushroom Festival. Nice gag, huh?

Alex Djelassi: The recordings of the base tracks are actually from a live situation. This time it's about creating a feeling in the listener how a "Green Mushroom Festival" would feel and sound with our participation.

Krautrock, psych and electronics are the ingredients of SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA

04. April 2017

Krautrock, psych and electronics are the ingredients of SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA

The short track is called "The Green Mushroom", and it describes a surreal desert trip. The song represents the partly absurd humour of Alexander Djelassi and Dirk Raupach alias Sounds Of New Soma. Other songs on her recently released album "La Grande Bellezza" have titles like "Bundesgartenschau '71", "Schwurbel" or - named after a bizarre Japanese community - "Garten des Lichts". "We like something like that", says Raupach, who also runs the label Tonzonen Records. Djelassi adds: "This aspect is very important, also to put the complex structures of our songs into perspective"

SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA "La Grande Bellezza"

20. March 2017

Oh, that's lovely. "La Grande Bellezza" indulges so wonderfully in the cosmic music as it was created in this country at the end of the 60s / beginning of the 70s: Popol Vuh, Tangerine Dream (at legendary "Phaedra"-/"breath"-times), Cluster and Harmonia send their greetings. At the same time Sounds Of New Soma are clearly structured on their third album, transparent in their sound and firmly rooted in the 21st century.

SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA "Moebius Tunnel"

20. April 2016

Dirk Raupach and Alex Djelassi are Sounds Of New Soma. With their second album "Moebius Tunnel" the duo succeeds in making a big hit. Like on the 2014 debut "Beyond The Acid Dream" it is electronic music of the very old school or more precisely: electronic music with very old sounds. This reminds so much of the early Tangerine Dream of the "Alpha Centauri", "Time" and "Breath" phases that it is a true joy.

Underground Tips March 2016

17. February 2016

Underground Tips March 2016

Top albums

1. Kungens Män - Förnekaren
2. Cranium Pie - The Mechanisms Tapes
3. Sounds Of New Soma - Moebius Tunnel
4. Sir Robin & The Longbowmen - Same 5.
Typhaon - Same
Top tracks

1. Sendelica - Moscow Bunker Blues
2nd Vintage Cucumber - Grashaus II
3rd Weedpecker - Into The Woods
4th This Is Nowhere - Lies
5th Mount Hush - The Day She Stole The Sun

Listen now:

Tags

SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA - Wenn Eidechsen weinen

20. März 2018

Das deutsche Psychedelic/Neokrautrock-Duo Sounds Of New Soma legt mit „Live At The Green Festival” sein viertes Album vor. Nach dem abgefeierten, in Schönheit und Schrulligkeit schwelgenden „La Grande Bellezza“ geht das neue Werk in eine neue gradlinige Richtung. eclipsed sprach mit den beiden Protagonisten Dirk Raupach (auch Besitzer des Independent-Labels Tonzonen Records) und Alex Djelassi.

eclipsed: Der Titel des neuen Albums ist doch ein Fake. Das Album ist weder live mitgeschnitten, noch gibt es ein Green Mushroom Festival. Netter Gag, oder?

Alex Djelassi: Die Aufnahmen der Basis-Tracks sind tatsächlich einer Livesituation entsprungen. Es geht uns diesmal darum, beim Hörer das Gefühl zu erzeugen, wie sich ein „Green Mushroom Festival“ mit unserer Beteiligung anfühlen und anhören würde.

Krautrock, Psych und Elektronik sind die Zutaten von SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA

04. April 2017

Der kurze Track heißt „Der grüne Pilz“, und er beschreibt einen surrealen Wüstentrip. Der Song steht stellvertretend für den teils absurden Humor von Alexander Djelassi und Dirk Raupach alias Sounds Of New Soma. Andere Nummern ihres gerade veröffentlichten Albums „La Grande Bellezza“ tragen Titel wie „Bundesgartenschau ‘71“, „Schwurbel“ oder – nach einer skurrilen japanischen Kommune benannt – „Garten des Lichts“. „So etwas mögen wir“, so Raupach, der auch das Label Tonzonen Records betreibt.

SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA „La Grande Bellezza“

20. März 2017

Hach, ist das herrlich. „La Grande Bellezza“ schwelgt so wunderbar in der kosmischen Musik, wie sie hierzulande Ende der 60er/Anfang der 70er erschaffen wurde: Popol Vuh, Tangerine Dream (zu legendären „Phaedra“-/„Atem“-Zeiten), Cluster und Harmonia lassen grüßen. Zugleich sind Sounds Of New Soma auf ihrem dritten Album klar strukturiert, transparent in ihrem Klangbild und somit fest im 21. Jahrhundert verwurzelt.

SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA „Moebius Tunnel“

20. April 2016

Dirk Raupach und Alex Djelassi sind Sounds Of New Soma. Mit seinem zweiten Album „Moebius Tunnel“ gelingt dem Duo ein großer Wurf. Wie auf dem 2014er Debüt „Beyond The Acid Dream“ ist es elektronische Musik der ganz alten Schule oder genauer: elektronische Musik mit ganz alten Sounds. Das erinnert so sehr an die frühen Tangerine Dream der „Alpha Centauri“-, „Zeit“- und „Atem“-Phase, dass es eine wahre Freude ist.

Underground Tips März 2016

17. Februar 2016

Top-Alben

1. Kungens Män - Förnekaren
2. Cranium Pie - The Mechanisms Tapes
3. Sounds Of New Soma - Moebius Tunnel
4. Sir Robin & The Longbowmen - Same
5. Typhaon - Same
Top-Tracks

1. Sendelica - Moscow Bunker Blues
2. Vintage Cucumber - Grashaus II
3. Weedpecker - Into The Woods
4. This Is Nowhere  - Lies
5. Mount Hush - The Day She Stole The Sun

Jetzt reinhören: