Tags

DEEP PURPLE 50 - Part 5: Live albums, tributes and epigones

28. August 2018

DEEP PURPLE 50 - Teil 5: Livealben, Tributes und Epigonen

What will remain of Deep Purple once the "The Long Goodbye Tour" is over? Will the tribute bands and epigones take over and do justice to the hard rock legend? Can they re-create the myth of Deep Purple in their songs or concerts? Or does the group, which is celebrated as the Liverock band, remain unique because of all its facets? These and other questions are addressed in the fifth part of our series of articles on half a century of Deep Purple.

DEEP PURPLE 50 - Part 4: Drummers, Keyboarder, Bassists

02. August 2018

DEEP PURPLE 50 - Teil 4: Schlagzeuger, Keyboarder, Bassisten

Deep Purple only know one drummer in their ranks. Also on the keyboarder position the hardrockers only get it to two players. And when you ask for their bassists, strictly speaking only one name comes to mind. Thus Purple form a fixed instrumentalist unit. This explains the homogeneous, powerful sound that has been the band for decades. In the following we portray the drummer as well as the keyboarder and bassists in the service of one of the greatest bands in rock history.

eclipsed No. 189 / 4-2017

18. July 2018

DEEP PURPLE 50 - Part 3: The Singers

01. June 2018

DEEP PURPLE 50 - Teil 3: Die Sänger

"It's the singer, not the song," that thesis rarely applied to Deep Purple. On the one hand the instrumental presence and potency in all five decades of the band was at least always at the same level as the lead vocals. And as long as Ritchie Blackmore was in the band, he provided the band with song ideas that would have worked well with other vocalists. On the other hand, there are these vocal great moments: "Child In Time" belongs to Ian Gillan and "Soldier Of Fortune" to David Coverdale.

DEEP PURPLE 50 - Part 2: The Guitarists

15. May 2018

DEEP PURPLE 50 - Teil 2: Die Gitarristen

Deep Purple is a band for guitarists. With Deep Purple you can and must become a hero as a guitarist. Ritchie Blackmore created the template and filled it with life like no other rock guitarist. Huge footsteps a Tommy Bolin couldn't grow into because of the drugs. And a role that Joe Satriani, despite all his brilliance on the guitar, did not want to accept. Even on Steve Morse, after two and a half decades in the band, the mighty shadow of Blackmore still falls.

Ian Gillan likes to call the guitarists who work for Deep Purple "mandolin players". This trivialization has a method, because only in this way can the frontman bear the fact that Purple's eyes and ears are always on the guitarist. A good Purple song is always judged by how memorable the guitar riff is and how virtuoso the solo is.

DEEP PURPLE - Made in England

05. April 2018

DEEP PURPLE - Made in England

"Deep Purple is the best thing that's happened to me in my life," says Ian Gillan, "and not a few music lovers around the world can join this statement for themselves. Deep Purple was created fifty years ago. For eclipsed, this special anniversary is one of the most important groups in the development of hard rock and in this and the next five issues the phenomenon Deep Purple will be highlighted from different angles. Half a century of lively rock history has written the formation once led by Jon Lord and Ritchie Blackmore. Beside great music the English produced, at least as long as Blackmore was part of the band, headlines concerning internal disputes. Where there's planing, chips fall.

DEEP PURPLE "Infinite"

12. April 2017

20 studio albums in 49 years - whether this is the end of the journey, the musicians themselves are still unclear. "We all enjoyed the recording sessions with Bob Ezrin very much," keyboardist Don Airey says, drawing attention to a fact that this album radiates. It's a feel-good album.

DEEP PURPLE - Journey to infinity

22. March 2017

DEEP PURPLE - Journey to infinity

Deep Purple belong to those bands that just can't stop. Some may be happy, others more compassionate. At least it's been that way for a long time. In the meantime, two members of the group, founded in 1968, have crossed the seventy mark, and two others are about to do so next year. Guitarist Steve Morse with his sixty-two Lenzen makes himself out like a young boy among his colleagues. Meanwhile, Purple's new CD "Infinite" has nothing to say about Alterszipperlein. With strength and esprit the slaughter-tested troupe fights their way through ten songs, of which certainly not all have what it takes to become classics, but some can at least be put painlessly between the train numbers of the band.

MONSTERS OF ROCK - Ritchie Blackmore celebrates his very own rock classics on the Loreley

22. June 2016

MONSTERS OF ROCK - Ritchie Blackmore celebrates his very own rock classics on the Loreley

17.6.2016 Loreley: "I have a feeling we´re not in Kansas anymore. We must be over the Rainbow."

All the mud and rain became instantly irrelevant as Ritchie Blackmore with his Rainbow on the Loreley, re-formed for three concerts, after this sequence from "The Wizard of Oz" starts with "Highway Star". Previously, Thin Lizzy and Manfred Mann´s Earth Band had rung in the new edition of the "Monsters Of Rock". Blackmore, who hadn't played a rock concert for 19 years, was the "Master of Cermony", and led the 15,000 visitors sovereign through a 13-song classic set with tracks he wrote for Rainbow and Deep Purple. The Chilean singer Ronnie Romero became the "best Ronnie since Ronnie (Dio)" and the version of "Stargazer" was breathtaking.

Birthday in absentia - IAN GILLAN turned 70 on 19 August

26. August 2015

Birthday in absentia - IAN GILLAN turned 70 on 19 August

"When I was a kid, I hated being kissed by aunts on my birthday. This probably explains my aversion to celebrating my birthday," Ian Gillan ponders, referring to his anniversary on August 19. "I won't celebrate the seventieth either." But his fans are.

Ian Gillan, born in London in 1945, grew up in the suburb of Hounslow, near Heathrow Airport. His first serious band was called Episode Six. When Ritchie Blackmore, Jon Lord and Ian Paice looked at the group in June 1969, Blackmore in particular was so enthusiastic about the distinctive singer that he immediately offered him a job at Deep Purple. He brought his episode six colleague Roger Glover into the love marriage as a dowry. "From then on, my life changed completely."

Tags

DEEP PURPLE 50 - Teil 5: Livealben, Tributes und Epigonen

28. August 2018

DEEP PURPLE 50 - Teil 5: Livealben, Tributes und Epigonen

Was wird von Deep Purple bleiben, wenn die „The Long Goodbye Tour“ einmal vorbei ist? Werden die Tributebands und Epigonen die Geschäfte übernehmen und der Hardrocklegende gerecht werden? Können sie in ihren Songs oder bei ihren Konzerten den Mythos Deep Purple neu heraufbeschwören? Oder bleibt die Gruppe, die als die Liverockband gefeiert wird, wegen all ihrer Facetten einzigartig? Diesen und weiteren Fragen gehen wir im fünften Teil unserer Artikelserie zu einem halben Jahrhundert Deep Purple nach.

DEEP PURPLE 50 - Teil 4: Schlagzeuger, Keyboarder, Bassisten

02. August 2018

DEEP PURPLE 50 - Teil 4: Schlagzeuger, Keyboarder, Bassisten

Deep Purple kennen nur einen Schlagzeuger in ihren Reihen. Auch auf der Keyboarderposition bringen es die Hardrocker nur auf zwei Akteure. Und fragt man nach ihren Bassisten, kommt einem streng genommen nur ein Name in den Sinn. Somit bilden Purple eine festgefügte Instrumentalisteneinheit. Dies erklärt den homogenen, druckvollen Sound, der die Band seit Jahrzehnten ausmacht. Im Folgenden porträtieren wir den Schlagzeuger sowie die Keyboarder und Bassisten in Diensten einer der größten Bands, die die Rockgeschichte kennt.

eclipsed Nr. 189 / 4-2017

18. Juli 2018

DEEP PURPLE 50 - Teil 3: Die Sänger

01. Juni 2018

DEEP PURPLE 50 - Teil 3: Die Sänger

„It’s the singer, not the song“, diese These traf nur sehr selten auf Deep-Purple zu. Einerseits war die instrumentale Präsenz und Potenz in all den fünf Bandjahrzehnten mindestens immer auf einer Stufe mit dem Leadgesang. Und solange Ritchie Blackmore in der Band war, versorgte er die Band mit Songideen, die auch mit anderen Vokalisten bestens funktioniert hätten. Auf der anderen Seite gibt es doch diese vokalen Sternstunden: „Child In Time“ gehört Ian Gillan und „Soldier Of Fortune“ David Coverdale.

DEEP PURPLE 50 - Teil 2: Die Gitarristen

15. Mai 2018

DEEP PURPLE 50 - Teil 2: Die Gitarristen

Deep Purple ist eine Band für Gitarristen. Bei Deep Purple kannst und musst du als Gitarrist zum Held werden. Die Vorlage dazu hat Ritchie Blackmore geschaffen und mit Leben ausgefüllt wie kein zweiter Rockgitarrist. Riesige Fußstapfen, in die ein Tommy Bolin aufgrund der Drogen nicht hineinwachsen konnte. Und eine Rolle, die Joe Satriani, trotz all seiner Brillanz an der Gitarre, nicht annehmen wollte. Selbst auf Steve Morse fällt nach zweieinhalb Jahrzehnten in der Band immer noch der mächtige Schatten Blackmores.

Ian Gillan nennt die Gitarristen, die in Diensten von Deep Purple stehen, gerne „Mandolinenspieler“. Diese Verniedlichung hat Methode, denn nur so kann der Frontmann es ertragen, dass bei Purple alle Augen und Ohren immer auf den Gitarristen gerichtet sind. Ein guter Purple-Song wird stets danach beurteilt, wie einprägsam das Gitarrenriff und wie virtuos das -solo ist.

DEEP PURPLE - Made in England

05. April 2018

„Deep Purple ist das Beste was mir in meinem Leben widerfahren ist“, sagt Ian Gillan, und nicht wenige Musikliebhaber weltweit können sich dieser Aussage für sich selbst anschließen. Deep Purple wurden vor fünfzig Jahren ins Leben gerufen. Für eclipsed ist dieser besondere Jahrestag einer der wichtigsten Gruppen in der Entwicklung des Hardrock Anlass, in dieser und den kommenden fünf Ausgaben das Phänomen Deep Purple von unterschiedlichen Seiten zu beleuchten. Ein halbes Jahrhundert lebendige Rockgeschichte hat die einst von Jon Lord und Ritchie Blackmore geführte Formation geschrieben. Neben grandioser Musik produzierten die Engländer, zumindest solange Blackmore Teil der Truppe war, auch immer wieder Schlagzeilen bezüglich interner Streitigkeiten. Wo gehobelt wird, fallen Späne.

DEEP PURPLE "Infinite"

12. April 2017

20 Studioalben in 49 Jahren – ob damit die Reise zu Ende ist, darüber sind sich die Musiker selbst noch im Unklaren. „Wir alle haben die Aufnahmesessions mit Bob Ezrin sehr genossen“, erzählt Keyboarder Don Airey und macht auf einen Umstand aufmerksam, den dieses Album ausstrahlt. Es ist ein Wohlfühlalbum.

DEEP PURPLE - Reise in die Unendlichkeit

22. März 2017

Als Deep Purple 1993 – damals noch mit Ritchie Blackmore und Jon Lord – eines ihrer schwächeren Alben unter dem programmatischen Titel „The Battle Rages On“ veröffentlichten, dachte die ganze Welt, dass sich die alten Herren da verhoben hatten. Vierundzwanzig Jahre später trifft dieses Motto auf die neue Platte „Infinite“ zu wie auf keine andere seitdem. Und ausgerechnet diese soll nun ihre letzte sein. Wir sprachen mit Airey, Glover, Morse und Paice sowie mit Produzent Bob Ezrin über das neue Kapitel – den möglichen Epilog – in der langen Karriere der Hardrockgranden.

MONSTERS OF ROCK - Ritchie Blackmore zelebriert auf der Loreley seine ureigenen Rock-Klassiker

22. Juni 2016

All der Schlamm und Regen wurden augenblicklich nebensächlich als Ritchie Blackmore mit seinen für drei Konzerte neuformierten Rainbow an der Loreley, nach dieser Sequenz aus "The Wizard of Oz" mit "Highway Star" startet. Zuvor hatten Thin Lizzy und Manfred Mann´s Earth Band die Neuauflage der "Monsters Of Rock" eingeläutet. Blackmore, der 19 Jahre kein Rockkonzert mehr gespielt hatte, war der "Master of Cermony", und führte die gut 15.000 Besucher souverän durch einen 13-Song-Klassiker-Set mit Tracks, die er für Rainbow und Deep Purple schrieb. Der chilenische Sänger Ronnie Romero avancierte zum "besten Ronnie seit Ronnie (Dio)" und die Version von "Stargazer" war atemberaubend.

Geburtstag in Abwesenheit - Am 19. August ist IAN GILLAN 70 geworden

26. August 2015

„Als Kind hasste ich es, wenn ich an meinem Geburtstag immer von den Tanten abgeküsst wurde. Daraus erklärt sich wohl meine Abneigung, meinen Geburtstag zu feiern“, sinniert Ian Gillan, angesprochen auf sein Jubiläum am 19. August. „Auch den Siebzigsten werde ich nicht feiern.“ Wohl aber seine Fans.

Ian Gillan, 1945 in London geboren, wuchs im Vorort Hounslow, in der Nähe des Flughafens Heathrow auf. Seine erste ernst zunehmende Band hieß Episode Six. Als sich im Juni 1969 Ritchie Blackmore, Jon Lord und Ian Paice die Gruppe anschauten, war vor allem Blackmore so von dem markanten Sänger begeistert, dass er ihm sofort einen Job bei Deep Purple anbot. Der brachte seinen Episode-Six-Kollegen Roger Glover als Mitgift in die Liebesheirat mit ein. „Von da ab änderte sich mein Leben komplett.“