Tags

JON ANDERSON has completed his all-star project "1000 Hands" after three decades

04. September 2020

JON ANDERSON hat nach drei Jahrzehnten sein Allstar-Projekt „1000 Hands“ fertiggestellt

Again and again lost albums haunt the annals of rock history, many of them unheard to this day (such as "Black Gold" by Jimi Hendrix). Some of them were only released in parts or new versions (famous examples: "Smile" by the Beach Boys, Pink Floyd's "Household Objects" or "Lifehouse" by The Who). Some of these mythical records, however, still see the light of day many decades later. So Neil Young unleashed "Hitchhiker" and "Homegrown" on the world after over 40 years. Now the former Yes-singer Jon Anderson is catching up after 30 years, his legendary project "Uzlot" came true. "1000 Hands. Chapter One" shines with an unbelievable number of top musicians from many genres: from jazz cracks like Chick Corea, Billy Cobham and Jean-Luc Ponty to many world music artists and prog musicians like Ian Anderson, Robby Steinhardt and old Yes comrades-in-arms like Steve Howe, Chris Squire and Alan White

eclipsed: Why did it take so long with "1000 Hands"?

With "The Red Planet" RICK WAKEMAN presents another instrumental prog album

04. September 2020

Mit „The Red Planet“ legt RICK WAKEMAN wieder ein instrumentales Prog-Album vor

Mars has always fascinated people - whether it is the question of life on the fourth planet of our solar system or its possible colonisation. Expeditions to the Red Planet seem to be getting closer, and Rick Wakeman has also caught the Mars fever. So much so that after several albums on which the piano was the focus of attention, the keyboardist has not only found his way back to his prog roots, but has also recorded his probably best solo work in many years. He tells in an interview what made him do this.

STEVE HOWE - Old hippie ideals with new topicality

10. August 2020

STEVE HOWE - Alte Hippie-Ideale mit neuer Aktualität

Yes, the Corona crisis has also thwarted the calculation: Their "Relayer" tour had to be postponed until spring 2021. At least now guitarist Steve Howe shortens the waiting time with his new solo album "Love Is". In the interview he talked about love of the earth as a life principle, Alexander von Humboldt and his pleasure in using his voice in addition to his guitar.

Leaving aside the "Homebrew" series, which is more of a demo, "Time" 2011 was Steve Howe's last solo work so far. In 2017 he recorded "Nexus" with his son Virgil, who died the same year. Both albums consisted of instrumental pieces. On "Love Is", after a long break from singing, he now appears again vocally, whereby he has also invited Yes front man Jon Davison to the harmonic singing session.

eclipsed: Did the Corona break help you finish your solo album?

YES - "Yes was always about looking forward musically"

16. April 2020

YES - „Bei Yes ging es immer darum, musikalisch nach vorne zu blicken“

The Yes story remains exciting. In 2020 the Steve Howe faction goes on another album tour, this time with the ambitious 1974 album "Relayer" in the center. In the interview, Steve Howe and Alan White not only spoke in detail about the live performance, but also about plans for a new album, a possible reunion with Jon Anderson and Co. and the future of one of the most enduring bands ever.

RICK WAKEMAN - Odyssey in sound space

01. November 2018

RICK WAKEMAN - Odyssee im Klangraum

If you think of Rick Wakeman, the synthesizer immediately comes to mind. The traces that the famous musician has left in rock history with this electronic powerhouse are too deep. As a sound witch of Yes, but also as a solo artist who has created large-format works for symphony orchestra and choir. Now with "Piano Odyssey" he has once again recorded a quiet album, which shows him on the grand piano.

From Rick Wakemans to the hundred solo recordings, it is above all the early albums "The Six Wives Of Henry VIII", "Journey To The Centre Of The Earth" and "The Myths And Legends Of King Arthur And The Knights Of The Round Table" that have remained in the memories of rock and prog fans. These established him as the intoxication gold angel on the battlements of his synthesizer castles. But the 69-year-old Englishman has also repeatedly focused on the natural sounds of the piano, as in his current recording "Piano Odyssey", a follow-up to the very successful "Piano Portraits" from 2017 in Great Britain. On a Steinway grand piano he intones pieces by Yes, David Bowie, the Beatles and Queen as well as his own compositions.

YES FEATURING ARW - The Career After the Career

27. September 2018

YES FEATURING ARW - Die Karriere nach der Karriere

A first studio product of them is yet to come. But as a live act, the Yes formation around Jon Anderson, Trevor Rabin and Rick Wakeman has been convincing all along since 2016. The recording "Live At The Apollo" now documents for the first time the stage qualities of the Yes fission product. It raises the question of the true guardians of the rich heritage of progressive rock pioneers.

eclipsed No. 196 / 12-2017 - 1-2018

18. July 2018

eclipsed No. 191 / 6-2017

18. July 2018

eclipsed No. 189 / 4-2017

18. July 2018

YES - The countdown has started

21. February 2018

YES - The countdown has started

After reporting on the Yes splinter group under the aegis of Jon Anderson, Trevor Rabin and Rick Wakeman in December, Steve Howe, who presides over the "official" Yes with Alan White, Geoff Downes, Billy Sherwood and Jon Davison, now has his say. The last sign of life of his band was the concert recording "Topographic Drama - Live Across America". It was released in November 2017, two months after Yes had to cancel the pending concerts of the "Yestival" tour due to the sudden death of Howe's youngest son. Since then the visionary guitarist had retired. Now he is back in the public eye and gives information about his plans.

eclipsed: Your son Virgil's death was a disaster. Even if it is difficult, how do you cope as a private person and as a musician?

Tags

JON ANDERSON hat nach drei Jahrzehnten sein Allstar-Projekt „1000 Hands“ fertiggestellt

04. September 2020

JON ANDERSON hat nach drei Jahrzehnten sein Allstar-Projekt „1000 Hands“ fertiggestellt

Immer wieder geistern verschollene Alben durch die Annalen der Rockgeschichte, vieles davon bis zum heutigen Tag ungehört (etwa „Black Gold“ von Jimi Hendrix). Einiges wurde nur in Teilen oder neuen Versionen veröffentlicht (berühmte Beispiele: „Smile“ von den Beach Boys, Pink Floyds „Household Objects“ oder „Lifehouse“ von The Who). Manche dieser mythischen Scheiben erblicken viele Jahrzehnte später allerdings doch noch das Licht der Welt. So hat Neil Young nach über 40 Jahren „Hitchhiker“ und „Homegrown“ auf die Welt losgelassen. Nun zieht die einstige Yes-Sangeselfe Jon Anderson nach 30 Jahren gleich, sein legendäres Projekt „Uzlot“ wurde wahr. „1000 Hands. Chapter One“ glänzt mit einer unglaublichen Anzahl an Top-Musikern aus vielen Genres: von Jazz-Cracks wie Chick Corea, Billy Cobham und Jean-Luc Ponty über viele World-Music-Künstler bis hin zu Prog-Musikern wie Ian Anderson, Robby Steinhardt und alten Yes-Mitstreitern wie Steve Howe, Chris Squire und Alan White. 

Mit „The Red Planet“ legt RICK WAKEMAN wieder ein instrumentales Prog-Album vor

04. September 2020

Mit „The Red Planet“ legt RICK WAKEMAN wieder ein instrumentales Prog-Album vor

Der Mars fasziniert die Menschen seit jeher – ob es nun um die Frage nach Leben auf dem vierten Planeten unseres Sonnensystems oder dessen mögliche Besiedlung geht. Expeditionen zum Roten Planeten scheinen näher zu rücken, und auch Rick Wakeman hat das Mars-Fieber gepackt. So sehr, dass der Keyboarder nach mehreren Alben, auf denen das Klavier im Mittelpunkt stand, nicht nur zu seinen Prog-Wurzeln zurückgefunden, sondern auch sein wohl bestes Solowerk seit vielen Jahren eingespielt hat. Was ihn dazu bewogen hat, erzählt er im Interview.

STEVE HOWE - Alte Hippie-Ideale mit neuer Aktualität

10. August 2020

STEVE HOWE - Alte Hippie-Ideale mit neuer Aktualität

Auch Yes hat die Corona-Krise einen Strich durch die Rechnung gemacht: Ihre „Relayer“-Tour musste auf das Frühjahr 2021 verschoben werden. Wenigstens verkürzt nun Gitarrist Steve Howe mit seinem neuen Soloalbum „Love Is“ die Wartezeit. Im Interview sprach er über Liebe zur Erde als Lebensprinzip, Alexander von Humboldt und sein Vergnügen daran, neben der Gitarre auch mal die Stimme zum Einsatz zu bringen.

Lässt man die „Homebrew“-Serie außer Acht, die eher Democharakter hat, war „Time“ 2011 Steve Howes bisher letztes Solowerk. 2017 spielte er mit seinem im selben Jahr verstorbenen Sohn Virgil „Nexus“ ein. Beide Alben bestanden aus Instrumentalstücken. Auf „Love Is“ tritt er nun nach längerer Sangespause auch wieder stimmlich in Erscheinung, wobei er zusätzlich Yes-Frontmann Jon Davison zum harmonischen Gesangsstelldichein eingeladen hat.

YES - „Bei Yes ging es immer darum, musikalisch nach vorne zu blicken“

16. April 2020

YES - „Bei Yes ging es immer darum, musikalisch nach vorne zu blicken“

Die Yes-Geschichte bleibt spannend. 2020 geht die Steve-Howe-Fraktion auf eine weitere Album-Tour, diesmal mit dem ambitionierten Werk „Relayer“ von 1974 im Mittelpunkt. Im Interview äußerten sich Steve Howe und Alan White nicht nur detailliert zur Liveumsetzung, sondern auch zu Plänen für ein neues Album, zu einer möglichen Reunion mit Jon Anderson und Co. und zur weiteren Zukunft einer der langlebigsten Bands überhaupt.

RICK WAKEMAN - Odyssee im Klangraum

01. November 2018

RICK WAKEMAN - Odyssee im Klangraum

Denkt man an Rick Wakeman, kommt einem sofort der Synthesizer in den Sinn. Zu tief sind die Spuren, die der berühmte Musiker mit diesem elektronischen Kraftpaket in der Rockgeschichte hinterlassen hat. Als Klanghexer von Yes, aber auch als Solokünstler, der großformatige Werke für Sinfonieorchester und Chor erschaffen hat. Nun hat er mit „Piano Odyssey“ mal wieder ein ruhiges Album eingespielt, das ihn am Konzertflügel zeigt.

Von Rick Wakemans an die hundert Soloeinspielungen sind es vor allem die frühen Alben „The Six Wives Of Henry VIII“, „Journey To The Centre Of The Earth“ und „The Myths And Legends Of King Arthur And The Knights Of The Round Table“, die Rock- und Progfans im Gedächtnis geblieben sind. Diese etablierten ihn als Rauschegoldengel auf den Zinnen seiner Synthesizerburgen. Doch der 69-jährige Engländer hat auch immer wieder die natürlichen Klänge des Klaviers ins Zentrum gestellt, so wie für die aktuelle Einspielung „Piano Odyssey“, einem Nachschlag zu dem in Großbritannien sehr erfolgreichen „Piano Portraits“ von 2017. An einem Steinwayflügel intoniert er Stücke von Yes, David Bowie, den Beatles und Queen sowie eigene Kompositionen.

YES FEATURING ARW - Die Karriere nach der Karriere

27. September 2018

YES FEATURING ARW - Die Karriere nach der Karriere

Ein erstes Studioerzeugnis von ihnen lässt auf sich warten. Als Live-Act jedoch überzeugt die Yes-Formation um Jon Anderson, Trevor Rabin und Rick Wakeman bereits seit 2016 auf ganzer Linie. Der Mitschnitt „Live At The Apollo“ dokumentiert jetzt erstmals die Bühnenqualitäten des Yes-Spaltprodukts. Es wirft die Frage nach den wahren Hütern des reichen Erbes der Progressive-Rock-Pioniere auf.

eclipsed Nr. 196 / 12-2017 - 1-2018

18. Juli 2018

eclipsed Nr. 191 / 6-2017

18. Juli 2018

eclipsed Nr. 189 / 4-2017

18. Juli 2018

YES - Der Countdown läuft

21. Februar 2018

Yes sind wie ein prachtvolles Passagierschiff. Die 1968 gegründete Formation, die mithalf, den Progressive Rock vom Stapel laufen zu lassen und durch alle Weltmeere zu führen, hat Anfang Februar passenderweise wieder bei der Prog-Allstar-Kreuzfahrt „Cruise To The Edge“ angeheuert. Doch Kapitän Steve Howe bereitet fürs große Bandjubiläum 2018 noch weitere Festivitäten vor. Und er will als Solokünstler aktiv bleiben.